August 22, 2018

World of Warships - Ranked Battles 10 - What you Need to Know

Ranked Battles 10 - What you Need to Know

Ranked Battles Are Back - The Tenth Season is About to Kick Off

24-08-2018 to 08-10-2018
On August 24, you can commence the struggle for a place in the League of Sea Wolves, so gear up your Tier VIII & X ships in preparation! You'll also have a chance to roll out your Tier V ships if you’re feeling serious about battle…
Within the infographics below, you’ll learn the rules of Ranked Battles and more: we’ve prepared a table specifying the details of bonus stars, the full list of rewards, a full description of the "Seasoned Sea Wolves" challenge, as well as other useful information.
Good luck to you in your quest to set new records in battle!
Ranked Battles 10 - poster

Basic Rules

  • The Tenth Season runs from 8:00 (CEST) on August 24 until 8:00 (CEST) on October 8.
  • In order to participate in Ranked Battles you need to have achieved at least Level 14 in your Service Record.
  • There are 23 ranks, which for the sake of simplicity, have been combined to form the different leagues: Third, Second, First, Premier, and the League of Sea Wolves.
  • Two teams of 7 players fight against one another; with team lineups mirrored in terms of ship types and tiers.
  • Through winning battles, players earn the stars needed to climb the rank ladder. In the case of the majority of ranks, a defeat means a lost star.
  • Novice players start the season from Rank 23; while those who participated in the previous Ranked Battle season will get bonus stars: one for each rank previously attained.
  • Ranks 23 to 17 as well as Ranks 15, 12 and 1 are irrevocable. Between Ranks 23–20, players don’t lose a star for a defeat, and being the top XP earner on your team in a lost battle keeps your hard-earned star. In the upcoming season we will return the irrevocable status from Rank 10 back to Rank 12, as the decision of moving the irrevocable rank in the previous season was made due to changing the ship tiers available for certain leagues. Now, Tier VIII ships are available only in the Third League, with Tier X ships available in the all other leagues except for the League of Sea Wolves.
  • Between Ranks 23–16, battles will involve Tier VIII ships only. For Ranks 15–2, battles require ships from Tier X. Commanders who achieve Rank 1 can, of course, continue playing against each other with ships from Tier V.
  • For Ranks 23–11, an additional bonus star is given when you progress to the next rank.
  • Those who achieve Rank 15 this season will be rewarded with a commemorative flag of the Second League.
  • Flags given for achieving league membership will be removed from players' accounts when the season ends.


Tier VIII: Neighbors, Northern Lights, Hotspot, Sea of Fortune, and Mountain Range in the Domination mode.
  • On all maps, the following parameters will be applied:
  • Number of key areas: 3
  • Capture time: 40 seconds
  • Points for capturing Key Areas: 2 points per 3 seconds
Tier X: Hotspot, Sea or Fortune, Warrior's Path, Mountain Range, Tears of the Desert, and Sleeping Giant in the Domination mode.
  • On all maps, the following parameters will be applied:
  • Number of key areas: 3
  • Capture time: 40 seconds
  • Points for capturing Key Areas: 3 points per 3 seconds
The Sea of Fortune map is an exception.
  • Number of key areas: 4
  • Capture time: 40 seconds
  • Points for capturing Key Areas: 2 points per 4 seconds
Tier V in the League of Sea Wolves:
  • Shatter—Domination mode, 3 Key Areas (+2 points per 3 seconds)
  • Sea of Fortune—Domination mode, 3 Key Areas (+2 points per 3 seconds)

Bonus Stars for the Previous Season

According to the established tradition, all of your achievements from the previous season will be accounted for, so you won't be starting from scratch. Depending on the rank you achieved in the previous season, you will be issued a certain number of bonus stars. You can receive a maximum of 22 stars. If you achieved Rank 1 in the previous season, you will start the new season from Rank 13. Rewards issued for the preceding ranks will be added to your account automatically.

Show the table


Show the full list of rewards

Starting from the Tenth Season, players will be given Steel for progressing through the ranks. Steel can be exchanged for much desired ships within the Arsenal. However, starting this season you won't receive any ships or camouflage as a reward for achieving Rank 1.
Players who reach Rank 1 for the third or fifth time will have their coupon for the "Ships" category updated two weeks after the season's end, just in case they have already redeemed it. This is done in order to allow players to obtain Flint or Black in a comfortable manner by spending their coupon. If the coupon has not been redeemed, an additional coupon will not be added to the player's account.
Please remember that the Steel you earn in the Ranked Battles allows you to not only obtain ships by spending Steel, but also to obtain other items using Coal with the exchange rate of 1 Steel to 10 Coal. Reverse exchange—Coal to Steel—is impossible.
In the new season you can also find a new resource—Copper. You will need this resource to obtain special camouflage options for Flint and Black, with each camouflage costing 3 Copper. For each Rank 1 you managed to achieve in the previous seasons you will be issued 1 Copper.
In case you already received the "Ultimate Mustang" camouflage for Flint and "Ultimate Crocodile" camouflage for Black, you will be issued 6 Copper less.
This season will be the last one in which you can receive the Jolly Roger flag as a reward for reaching Rank 1. Future seasons will see it replaced by other commemorative rewards.

Check out this interesting analysis article on "Meta Predictions and Tier List"

Ranked Battles 10 - analysis